In 2014, the Government of Nepal bestowed the honour of naming one of the country’s peaks after the UIAA.

The UIAA Peak (6063m) in the Solu Khumbu region of Nepal became one of 104 new peaks that opened for mountaineering in 2014. Some of the other peaks have been named after famous mountaineers such as Tenzing Norgay, the first man to climb Everest with Sir Edmund Hillary and the legendary French climber Maurice Herzog who made the first ascent of an 8000 meter peak (Annapurna) with Louis Lachenal.

Ang Tshering Sherpa, Honorary Member of the UIAA and then President of the Nepal Mountaineering Association announced the decision by the Nepal Government during a meeting of the UIAA Management Committee in Munich, Germany on 29 May 2014.

“The opening of Tenzing peak, UAAA peak, UIAA peak, Herzog peak and Lachenal peak, among others are also major achievements, which will certainly attract international alpine clubs for their promotion,” Tshering Sherpa told the meeting.

The peaks were chosen by the Nepal government in consultation with the Nepal Mountaineering Association.

There are now a total of 414 peaks open for mountaineering in Nepal, up from the 326 peaks that were available for climbing before last Thursday’s announcement.

Previously 122 new peaks were opened in 2002 and nine more peaks were opened for climbing in 2004.

Technical details of the UIAA Peak can be found here.

Have you climbed the UIAA peak?